Education · parent & teacher · Parenting tips

Starting A New School Year

I hope everyone had a restful & enjoyable summer. I sure did. I am well rested and motivated to begin the new school year. I need moments of rest & relaxation in order to rejuvenate. This 2015-2016 school year brings endless possibilities.

A few words of advice:

I encourage parents to keep the lines of communication open with the teachers of their children. A short & sweet email that begins with gratitude, that also offers the teacher assistance is great. Avoid long & drawn out emails. Include in the email any major concerns that you think the teacher must know about your child yet, if there are no major concerns–fine. The key here is to keep it simple. As and educator, I have to use each minute of my work day wisely and frankly I don’t have time to read long emails.

Some things can wait until parent teacher conference. Parents you to do not have to wait until parent teacher conference in order to schedule a chat with the teachers. Most teachers either come to work early or stay late, at least one day in a week. If you are unable to make the official parent teacher conference find out which off times would be convenient for the teacher & yourself. For very busy and helpful parents that don’t cause trouble, I am even willing to occasionally spend my lunch break chatting with them. It is in the best interest of the child when the parent & teacher are on one accord.

Maybe, you can’t come up to the school because you have a conflicting work schedule. There are other things: offer to make play dough (if the class uses it) ask if there are any supplies that the teacher did not get and offer to get one or two. I am under the impression that it takes a village to raise one child. It is the responsibility of all of us to join in to offer assistance.

Have a Great School Year,

I. Monae

Leave a Reply

